Calendar   |   Festival Passes  |   Donations  |   My Account  |   Shopping Cart
Cannot access this performance because it occurred in the past: 1/14/10 6:30 PM.
The selected performance is NOT available for sale.
Please Select Tickets
You have selected:
FONT Music presents: Forward Flight
Thursday, January 14, 2010 at 6:30PM

Abrons Arts Center
466 Grand Street
New York, NY 10002
Lower East Side (on the corner of Pitt St.)
F or J/M/Z to Delancey/Essex; B/D to Grand St.

Forward Flight is a collection of performances designed to highlight the forward-looking trajectory of current brass music. The name is taken from a late fifties album by Booker Little, and like that trumpeter it shows the wide ranging possibilities for this instrument. In the context of alternative folk and rock, in contemporary classical composition, in international hybrids of improvised music and electronics, brass instruments continue to breath air into the expansion of contemporary trends. See schedule below.

To buy a three-day FONT Music Festival Pass (Thursday, January 14 - Saturday, January 16) go to and make your purchase under the Membership section. $40 / $30 students

Wednesday, January 13th, 2010

Celebrate the music and legacy of Wilmer Wise | FONT Music Benefit Concert Performances by Dave Douglas, Wilmer Wise, and several special surprise guests.

Thursday, January 14th, 2010

6:30PM: Anti-Social Music presents World-Premieres with Tim Byrnes, Chris DiMeglio, Stephanie Richards and Kelly Rossum.

7:30PM: The New York Trumpet Ensemble, directed by Mark Gould

9:00PM: Legendary trumpeter Wilmer Wise plays chamber music by Ornette Coleman

Friday, January 15th, 2010

6:30PM: Opsvik & Jennings meets Ignite a Noise Trumpet Trio

7:30PM: Chicago Underground Duo with Rob Mazurek and Chad Taylor

9:00PM: The Low Anthem with special appearance by Dave Douglas

Saturday, January 16th, 2010

6:30PM: Sarah Ferholt’s Vevertise and Mr. Tamerman’s Maggot

7:30PM: Meridian Arts Ensemble, with special guests Dave Ballou and Jon Nelson

9:00PM: Open Circuit International Trumpet Ensemble: Taylor Ho Bynum, Jean Luc Capozzo, Franz Hautzinger, Joe McPhee, and Itaru Oki, and Herb Robertson, with Jean-Jacques Avenel and John Betsch.