Calendar   |   Packages  |   Products  |   Donations  |   My Account  |   Shopping Cart
Cannot access this performance because it occurred in the past: 1/12/12 7:30 PM.
The selected performance is NOT available for sale.
Please Select Tickets
You have selected:
Five Boroughs Music Festival and Baruch Performing Arts Center present
Five Borough Songbook
Thursday, January 12, 2012 at 7:30PM

Baruch's Engelman Recital Hall
55 Lexington Avenue
New York, NY 10010
Take the R or 6 Train to 23rd Street, walk east to Lexington Avenue and then north to 25th Street



6:30pm Composer Chat
7:30pm Concert
9:30pm Reception

Baruch Students/Faculty $15 (only through the box office w/proper ID)

ABOUT THE PROGRAM:

Now in its fifth season, Five Boroughs Music Festival (http://5bmf.org/) has taken on a bold and exciting new project, commissioning twenty of New York's finest composers to write new songs inspired by all parts of New York City. The resulting Five Borough Songbook (http://5bmf.org/2012/01/five-borough-songbook-manhattan-premiere/) is a celebration of NYC's history, poetry, geography, and of course, its eight million residents. On January 12th the Songbook will have its Manhattan Premiere, performed by a stellar cast of musicians, including four vocalists, two pianists, and a violinist. Come early to hear some of the composers speaking about their new works, and what it means to be part of this new songbook for a new NYC!

PERFORMERS:
Martha Guth, soprano (http://marthaguth.com/#/home)
Jamie Van Eyck, mezzo-soprano (http://www.jamievaneyck.com/)
Alex Richardson, tenor (http://www.alexrichardsontenor.com/)
David McFerrin, baritone (http://www.davidmcferrin.com/)
Harumi Rhodes, violinist (http://www.triocavatina.com/harumi.html)
Thomas Bagwell (http://www.newschool.edu/mannes/facultycollege.aspx?mid=9274) and Jocelyn Dueck (http://www.jocelyndueck.com/), pianists

LIST OF COMPOSERS:
Christopher Berg (http://www.liegnermanagement.com/berg.htm)
Lisa Bielawa (http://www.lisabielawa.com/)
Tom Cipullo (http://www.tomcipullo.com/)
Christina Courtin (http://www.christinacourtin.com/live/) Mohammed Fairouz (http://www.mohammedfairouz.com/)
Renee Favand-See (http://www.reneefavand.com/)
John Glover (http://www.johnmakesnoise.com/)
Ricky Ian Gordon (http://www.rickyiangordon.com/)
Yotam Haber (http://www.yotamhaber.com/)
Daron Hagen (http://www.daronhagen.com/)
Martin Hennessy (http://www.martinhennessy.net/)
Gabriel Kahane (http://gabrielkahane.tumblr.com/)
Gilda Lyons (http://www.gildalyons.com/)
Jorge Martin (http://www.jorgemartin.com/www.jorgemartin.com/Home.html)
Russell Platt (http://www.russellplatt.com/)
Glen Roven (http://www.glenroven.com/)
Matt Schickele (http://www.mattsomething.com/home.cfm)
Richard Pearson Thomas (http://www.richardpearsonthomas.com/)
Christopher Tignor (http://www.wqxr.org/#/articles/q2-music/2010/may/28/introducing-christopher-tignor/) Scott Wheeler (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scott_Wheeler_(composer))
LINKS TO REVIEWS:
http://thenewcivilrightsmovement.com/review-five-borough-songbook-premiere-in-nycs-dumbo/news/2011/10/23/28165#.Ts1cKGDe7oA AND
http://www.wqxr.org/#/blogs/operavore/2011/oct/08/song-city/